Final Post – Blogging – A reflection

Well the time has come… time to hand this in…

What is a Blog?  Well to me I have always thought of a Blog as a personal online journal that can be like a diary or posts on a specific topic.  Pretty much anybody that has access to the web can sign up for a basic blog account and start publishing.

Personal I do not blog nor do I read blogs but if I were to read a blog it would have to be of interest to me and must be a “good read”.  For example the writer involves the reader, puts a little of themselves into the post, uses a bit of humour, the post are straight to the point and not too long. I think I got a little lost in specifics rather than voicing my own opinion.

The design of the blog would be the same principles of website design with lots of white space, not too crowded with lots of content and boxes everywhere.  The blog would have regular posts daily or weekly.

The reason why I pick this template design is because the design is basic, there is good use of white space, not too much advertising, not too crowded, nice font and the background is easy to read on.

WordPress and the tools were easy to set up and use once I had a play around.  At first it was hard to get into writing mode but towards the end I have found it enjoyable.  However I would have like to include more humour and more of a personal writing style but is not too appropriate for this subject and assignment.

To me it seems that blogs are changing now that businesses are utilising blogs they have become more formal and more like a website rather than a blog.  I find some of these too commercial and contain too much detail, where in the past it was more amateur, someone speaking from their own opinion.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog…

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Final Post – Blogging – A reflection

  1. Kim says:

    I’d have to agree that at their inception blogs were akin to a journal: one persons thoughts or ideas put one public display to share and possibly create a discussion. The fact that businesses are now utilising them is actually pretty clever – a lot of people read blogs or watch vlogs (which I prefer) and this leads to a bigger, more diverse market for many companies.

  2. Cara says:

    Sometimes a blog just has too much information. I’m a skim reader and personally I shut off and start skim reading to the interesting bits if it starts going into too much detail. And if that happens I won’t go back to it if it starts boring me. I think a blog works if you give the reader something to grip on to that makes them want to keep coming back to see what happens next, and also gives them something interesting to discuss.

  3. CM says:

    I’m still to wrap my head around blogs in their entirety. I too think of them more as a writing journal and not as a marketing tool. I guess if I were to use one in a business sense I would start with the very basic questions of what would the blogs purpose be, what tone and what would it provide that they other social media tools don’t provide?

    I agree that the easier to read blogs involve the reader, includes personal examples, are light in tone but are also succinct and relevant.

  4. Jo says:

    Totally, lots of businesses are using blogs to communication externally and internally. I think though a balance is required as sometimes we receive too much information.

Leave a Reply

